ALABAMA ETHICS COMMISSION MINUTES

November 1, 2021 10:30 a.m. 9th Floor, RSA Union Building Montgomery, Alabama

The Alabama Ethics Commission met on November 1, 2021, at 10:30 a.m. in the Public Service Commission Hearing Room on the 9th Floor of the RSA Union Building.

Commission Members Present:

Commission Members Absent:

Honorable John Plunk, Chair Honorable Lyn Stuart, Ret. Chief Justice, Vice-Chair Honorable Stanton H. McDonald, Member Honorable BG (R) Edward Crowell (USAF), Member Honorable Deborah Long, Member

Commission Staff Present:

Thomas B. Albritton, Executive Director Cynthia Propst Raulston, General Counsel Brian Paterson, Assistant General Counsel R. Christopher Clark, Chief Special Agent Brian Baker, Special Agent April Innes, Special Investigator Austin Gilmore, Administrative Support Assistant I Mary Johnson, Legal Research Assistant Breanna Kelley, Administrative Support Assistant I

Other:

Jason Kobielus, Court Reporter – Huseby

Mr. Plunk called the meeting to order at 10:39 a.m.

Old Business:

None

New Business:

At 10:41 a.m. General Crowell moved that the Commission go into Executive Session. Chief Justice Stuart seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously with all those present voting.

At 1:55 p.m. Chief Justice Stuart moved that the Commission go back into Open Session. General Crowell seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously with all those present voting.

Alabama Ethics Commission Minutes November 1, 2021 Page 2

Case No. 2020-0372

Spencer Walker, District Attorney, 1st Judicial Circuit

Chief Justice Stuart moved that based on the evidence as presented to this Commission, there exists cause to hold that Spencer Walker has violated the Alabama Ethics Law, and further moved that this case be referred for review and appropriate legal action to the Alabama Attorney General. General Crowell seconded the motion. Motion passed with three ayes (Crowell, Plunk, Stuart) and two nays (Long, McDonald).

Adjournment

There being no further business at 1:59 p.m., General Crowell moved that the meeting be adjourned, and Chief Justice Stuart seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously with all those present voting.

John Plunk, Chair

Mary Johnson, Recording Secretary

Thomas B. Albritton, Executive Director