Enforcement of the Alabama Ethics Laws begin with the filing of a Complaint.
- A complaint may only be filed by a person who has or persons who have credible and verifiable information supporting the
allegations contained in the complaint.
- The Alabama Ethics Commission is prohibited from accepting Verbal Complaints, Anonymous Complaints or Unsigned
- The Statute of Limitations are as follows:
- Prior to any investigation, the Alabama Ethics Commission must receive a written and signed complaint which sets forth in detail
the specific charges against a respondent, and the factual allegations which support such charges.
- The Commission has 180 days to determine whether probable cause exists. An extension of an additional 180 days may be
- It is strongly recommended and we encourage any Complainant not to discuss any matter filed with the Ethics Commission so
not to jeopardize an on-going investigation.
- Upon investigation a complaint may be:
- Closed because the Ethics Commission does not have jurisdiction regarding the
alleged wrongdoing or the Statute of Limitations has expired.
- Dismissed due to lack of evidence to support the complaint.
- Presented to Commission for Determination of Probable Cause.